Easy Knit Slouchy Beanie Pattern

I first fell in love with this hat when I saw it on a friend of mine: It just looked so comfy and effortlessly cool. But it wasn’t until I kept drooling over it on random passersby that I knew it was a perfect candidate for some DIY. But my memory is pretty bad, so when I found myself standing alone at the bus stop one dreary morning with, OMG, someone wearing that hat, I took an incognito picture of the back of said person’s head with (sadly?) only mild guilt. From there, I devised a pattern (not exactly the same, but whatever) using any yarn I happened to have on hand. The results are below.

2014-03-01 13.04.45

2014-01-31 08.50.33

It’s actually super comfortable and fits my head great! I think I have a rather average sized head, so one size should fit most. It’s a pretty quick knit, and I used only one skein, with a bit to spare. Happy Knitting!

Materials:

1 Skein Caron SHEEP(ISH) Vickie Howell Yarn in Olive(ish)*

*alternative: any 30z/85g medium weight yarn of approximately 167yds

1 pair of size US5 (3.75mm) double pointed needles, or equivalent circular needle

2014-03-01 13.03.10

Abbreviations:

CO= cast on

PFB= purl1 into the front and back of the next stitch to increase by 1 stitch

K2tog= knit two together

Stitch Guide: Ribbed Seed Stitch

Row 1: K1 P1

Row 2: Knit

Repeat Rows 1-2

Pattern:

CO 88 Stitches (22 stitches on 4 dpn’s)

Rows 1-10: Rib stitch K1P1, or for 1.5inches

Next Row: *Purl1, PFB, P20, PFB, P1,* Repeat from * to end. 96 stitches on 4 needles.

Rows 12-15: Purl

Rows 16-20: K1P1

Rows 21-26: Purl

Rows 27-34: Work in Ribbed Seed Stitch for 8 rows (see stitch guide)

Rows 35-40: Purl

Repeat Rows 21- 34 four more times (about 7.5inches from CO), or until desired length

Next Row: Knit

Knit for 4 more rows, then begin the decrease

Decrease:

Row 1: K2tog

Row 2: Knit

Repeat until 12 stitches remain on 4 needles, break yarn and draw through remaining stitches, tie off

Because this was retroactively devised from the finished product, apologies for any inconsistencies, let me know if there’s questions!

2 thoughts on “Easy Knit Slouchy Beanie Pattern

Reply

