Drastic Measures

It wasn’t until I compared my finances to that of my boyfriend’s, that I realized something was going seriously wrong. Both of had begun living on our own for nearly a year, paying those pesky bills with our own hard earned money. Both of us have similar incomes and split everything down the middle. So in theory, we should have similar savings, right? Well not exactly. he has put away $5,000 in a year where I have bagged a measly $200. Why is that? Well I do have a little spending habit, combined with a weakness for new clothes. Looking at my closet and excluding all the shoes, what you would find is at least half of it has been purchased in the last two years. There are very few items I have had forever, and even fewer that I feel truly comfortable in, so I keep buying more. Shopping is a hobby, something to do with friends, alone, on weekends, weekdays, or online. And while I have made countless resolutions to cut back, my spending habits should be reigned in before before it becomes debt.

That is why I have decided to take drastic measures. I recently read an article about individuals in my predicament, who vow to wear only six items of clothing for a whole month. As part of an online pledge, people all over the world vow simultaneously, then share their experiences and support. The next challenge begins the end of next month, and I couldn’t be more excited. Although the process is daunting and seemingly ridiculous because of its extreme nature, I didn’t take it seriously until I read some of the experiences and feelings of recent participants. By far the most common sentiment was that people’s friends, co-workers, even family members didn’t even notice that they hadn’t strayed out of the six piece realm. Unfortunately, this challenge does cater to those obsessive types that that buy multiples of the same item, since it is allowed to wear different but identical items. While I don’t have more than one of the same thing unless it’s different colors, I think I might be able to pull it off if I do laundry every weekend instead of every three weeks per usual. I am still a little apprehensive, and as it stands I change clothes twice a day due to the heat. Can I do it? I guess we’ll find out. Anyone care to join me?

Read about it the movement in the NY Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/22/fashion/22SIXERS.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1&emc=eta1

5 thoughts on “Drastic Measures

  1. Wow, this seems hard to do. When I went to England I ended up doing this because it got really hot and I only had like 3 tshirts, jeans and one skirt outfit. I was so sick of wearing those clothes that I didn’t look at them for months when I came back. Anyway, I applaud your effort to save money but I don’t see why you can’t wear everything you have already and just not buy new clothes for say 6 months.

    Like

  2. I find myself in a similar situation. Although in recent months my clothes shopping has really tapered, I went through a big makeup phase, and I find myself still in the midst of a cooking gadget phase.
    I read that same article in the NYT. While I probably wouldn’t do a 6 items of clothing challenge, I would be open to other sorts of challenges.
    We could do side-by-side challenges. Starting August 1, I will not buy any cooking gadgets (pots, pans, spoons, spatulas), makeup, or clothing for the whole month.

    Like

  3. Have a sidewalk sale! BUT put all the funds into savings.
    Then go on the DIET!

    Saving is hard, no doubt about that.
    Try doing an automatic savings plan with direct deduction from the paycheck itself into the savings account. That’s how we put you through school!

    Also, you have a car, and that can put a dent in anyone’s pay!

    Like

  4. I seriously need to figure out a way to save money. Compulsive or just mindless shopping is so easy to do…just tonight I blew almost 50 bucks at target! Why/how did I do that? I don’t buy clothes so much as just random things I can do without. Maybe you can be my “sponsor” and I’ll text you when I’m getting urges to spend money haha.

    Like

  5. I also read that same article! After this month, I am putting myself on a very limited budget. I foresee very many lean meals in my future…We should all exchange recipes!

    Like

Reply

