Spring has Arrived!

I was unhappily mislead by a brief stint of sunny skies and warmish weather at the beginning of March, as April Fools Day came with freezing temperatures and a light dusting of snow. While the big piles of dirty ice had mostly vanished, the cold was lingering, and a warm day would only once or twice appear. Now it’s almost mid-april and while spring has supposedly set in long ago, it hasn’t been until recently that I’ve noticed a change in the air.

New England houses, in all their pseudo-Victorian colonial splendor, have shirked off the snow from their pointed rooftops and turned over the frozen garden soil with new mulch. Bulbs everywhere have stopped their hibernation to poke green shoots out, and suddenly flowers were popping up in the most unlikely of places. Homeowners, landscapers and city workers have come out from all corners to re-manicure the lawns anew, sweep the streets, repair potholes and the like. The seasons shape the city so strongly here, but more then that it shapes moods and work ethics. I now understand the meaning of spring cleaning, I rotate out my winter clothes, and I find an uncontrollable urge to smile as the temperatures enter the 60’s. It’s a new energy that has permeated the air, and it’s affecting my temperament and attitude for the better. As Imogen Heap says it, “I want to run in fields, paint the kitchen, and love someone…” anything to celebrate the spring and do what I couldn’t do cooped up inside all winter. But I’m not the only one. The first warm day and the whole city was out in force, with kids playing on scooters and neighbors talking over fences. What better time for Boston’s defining event, Marathon Monday!

This Monday, a special holiday welcomes the runners of the 26k Boston Marathon, and what a better way to celebrate the spring then to spend a day outside cheering them on. I am always surprised at how so many individuals can run tirelessly (well maybe not, but at least constantly) for hours, without stopping to give up and go home. This year, I hope to get out there and use the athlete tracker to see which mile markers my friends are passing, so I know their progress and can increase my chances of seeing them whiz by! Good Luck to all the runners this Monday, and I’ll be there to cheer you all on!

Reply

