Snow Day DIY

It’s a Snow Day!!! Since the New Year I’ve been compiling a list of DIY projects that I hope to work through as my schedule allows, so I’m taking advantage of this extra day to a) avoid shoveling snow or going outside and b) to check something off my DIY list is extra fun!

All these projects are new things I haven’t done before…things I haven’t been adventurous enough to try or was just plain lazy. No more! I bought a crafty book over the Christmas holiday I’ve been using to get DIY ideas from the publishers of my favorite magazine BUST and the Stitch ‘n Bitch gal Debbie Stoller called The BUST Guide to Life: Making your Way through Everyday.

Okay, first my list:

  1. Pickle Something!
  2. Glass Etching
  3. DIY Candles and/or Lip Gloss
  4. Grow Succulents Indoors
  5. Make my own Butter
  6. Compost
  7. Sew More things

First up: Pickle Something!! I know it’s boring, but I started with pickling pickles.

Image

I didn’t know which would be best, so I chose to pickle mini cucumbers and cut up pieces of large cucumbers. I chose to flavor the vinegar with Garlic and Dill, with half the jars also containing Cayenne Pepper for my guy, who likes things spicy.

Image

Surprisingly straight forward: boil, chop, boil, pour, let sit for 48 hours (at least).

Image

I guess we’ll see how they turn out!

While I’ll never abandon my first DIY love (knitting) it’s nice to freshen things up a bit.

Reply

