Chocolate Chip Banana Protein Pancakes

It’s Sunday morning, and there’s no food in the house. All I have is two week old bananas that look a little sad and brown: perfect for cooking! There’s no milk or eggs, only a free bottle of vanilla flavored protein shake I picked up as a sample at Boston’s Earthfest this weekend. I don’t even know why I took one, I hate vanilla flavored drinks! I also had less than half a bag of mini chocolate chips…the makings of some banana pancakes! So instead of running to the corner doughnut shop to pick up breakfast, as my fiance kindly offered to do, I opted to try using this protein shake (which was mostly soymilk based) as a milk substitute in a chocolate chip pancake recipe. The results were surprisingly delicious!

2014-05-18 09.45.01Modified from Bakerella’s Chocolate Chip Banana Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups of Flour
  • 2 Tbsp sugar (optional)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp Flax Meal + 3 Tbsp water, mixed (or 1 egg)
  • 1 cup Svelte Organic Vanilla Protein shake (or milk of choice)
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter
  • 2 mashed ripe bananas (~1 cup)
  • 1 cup miniature chocolate chips

2014-05-18 12.35.20

The banana and chocolate flavor nicely masked the protein-vanillaness of the shake, and gave it an extra something to keep us full throughout the day. I also used two tablespoons of sugar in my pancakes but I think it could even be omitted since they were plenty sweet already between the shake and the chocolate. I didn’t even have to use syrup.

To start, mixed the dry ingredients in a bowl. Then separately (I like a Pyrex 2-cup measuring cup instead of another bowl) mash the bananas, to one cup. Then add the protein shake “milk” to 2-cups, mix, and add flax “egg”, melted butter and mix it all up. Then pour it into your dry ingredients and stir a few times until combined. I like to melt butter in a pan over medium heat before adding the pancake batter, then flip away! I add more butter each time I make a new batch to prevent the pancakes from sticking. If you have a non-stick griddle this isn’t necessary.

Tips for flipping pancakes perfectly every time: Once I volunteered at a pancake breakfast, pouring and flipping dozens of pancakes at a time. People were surprised how easily and mess-free my flipping skills turned out to be: apparently pancake flipping was my secret superpower! I had learned from my mom how to flip pancakes long ago, and her method turned out to be foolproof. I followed these simple steps:

  1. Pour a spatula sized amount of batter into the pan. Not too big, not too small (although smaller is easier). A little less than a quarter of a cup of batter.
  2. Don’t touch the pancakes until the edges are matte (no longer shiny) and bubbles appear. You should see bubbles even toward the middle of the pancake, even if it is still shiny in the middle.
  3. Slide your spatula underneath, wriggling it slightly side to side as you go
  4. Twist your wrist to flip, and flip with confidence! Don’t panic.

Now you’ve made the perfect pancakes!

2014-05-18 10.13.58

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Protein Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Cherry Blueberry Chia Pancakes: morning breakfast staple packs a protein punch! | Sio Says Things...

  2. Pingback: Healthy Weekend Brunch: Honey Quinoa Pancakes | Sio Says Things...

Reply

