Cross-Over Knitted Headband: Free Pattern

This weekend is House of Cards binge weekend, and I’m already spending more time than is recommended in front of the TV. It’s also snowing (again) outside, and as much as people tell me spring is just around the corner, I’m still in the mood for cozy knits, hot tea, and soup.

And so, for the millionth time, I’m making an earwarmer/headband to keep toasty on my long commutes. In fact, it’s my commutes that gave me the idea for this cross-over turban style headband, since I’ve seen it worn by so many stylish ladies on the subway that I wanted one myself.

2015-03-01 12.05.30-1

I had some extra yarn left over from the last hat I made, and three House of Cards episodes later, I whipped up this headband. It’s fully reversible and mostly very easy, the only tricky part is getting the cross-over, but I’ll do my best to explain. For a slightly thicker version shown in blue, use the number of stitches in parentheses.

2015-03-07 10.35.40-1

Materials: 

  • 3 Size 8 Double Pointed Needles
  • Lion Brand Yarns Heartland in Black Canyon

2015-03-01 19.39.15

Pattern:

Cast On 24 stitches on one DPN (28 for a slightly thicker headband).

Row 1: Slip 1 knitwise *K2, P2* Repeat from star to last 3 sts, K3.

Row 2: Slip 1 Purlwise *P2, K2* Repeat from star to last 3 sts, P3.

Work in Rows 1-2 for a rib pattern until the band measures half of your head, for me that was 9.5 inches. At this point, you’re ready to work the cross-over.

Cross-over: Work in pattern for 12(14) sts then turn work, leaving 12(14) unworked sts on one DPN and use a third DPN to work those first 12(14) sts in pattern in the opposite direction to end. Next row, turn and work the same 12(14) sts again in pattern, so you are back in the middle of the work, and that half of your headband is now longer than the other half. This longer section will be crossed over. Next, (and this is the tricky part) cross the longer 12(14) stitch section over the shorter section, being careful not to twist, and transfer the the sts from the longer section onto the needle containing the other 12(14) sts by putting the last stitch on the section being transferred in front of the other 12(14) sts, and working backwards until all you have all 24(28) sts on one DPN. At this point, your yarn should be on the outside.

Next Row: Continue to work in pattern straight across the twist, taking care not to twist the the work further. Continue in pattern until the headband fits your head, for me, another 9.5 inches. The headband will stretch, so I usually make it a little tight: about 1 inch shorter than the true diameter of my head.

For the cast off, there are several ways finish. You can simply cast off and then sew the ends together, or you can try the three needle bind-off, which casts off and binds the ends together in one.

Cast Off: Use your third DPN to pick up 24 (28) stitches at the finished end of your headband, to which you will join the end you’re working. Put the ends together and hold the needles together in your left hand as normal, except you have two needles instead of one. Start your cast off by knitting through both the first stitch on your active needle and the stitch on the second needle containing the picked up stitches, so that you are knitting both together as one. Continue this way and cast off as normal, breaking yarn and weaving in ends.

2015-03-07 10.39.42

I could make this in so many different colors and patterns, and different thicknesses too. I know spring is just around the corner, but from here it sure still feels like winter! So until the snow stops falling, the binge watching and knitting cycle will continue. Happy Sunday!

Reply

