Healthy Whole Wheat Strawberry Chia Oat Muffins

Although it’s technically spring, Boston hasn’t caught up with the rest of the world yet, and still thinks it should be snowing. When I woke up to a cold house and a fridge in dire need of restocking, I knew I had to make some kind of hot breakfast item with whatever I had left so I didn’t have to leave the house.

We always buy a carton of strawberries for the week, and we still had a decent number left, but only in okay shape. Combine those with the oats and flour I keep on hand, a bit of almond milk and leftover yogurt, and voila! Some deliciously moist and not-too-unhealthy breakfast muffins.

2015-03-21 10.56.19

I forgot to put it in the picture title, but I added some chia seeds to the batter for extra protein. I am in love with chia seeds, but sadly my husband does not feel the same. He thinks they have a strange texture, and in liquids they do expand and remind me somewhat of slightly crunchy tapioca. I usually put them in my yogurt or oatmeal for breakfast, but if I bake them in something like pancakes or muffins, it disguises the texture and passes husband muster.

I’ve been experimenting with whole wheat flour recipes for baked goods, and this is the first one where I used no regular white flour at all, and still liked the texture! I’m really excited at how these turned out, and definitely would make again.

2015-03-21 10.51.28

For the muffins, Preheat the oven to 375 degrees, line a muffin pan with baking cups, or grease with kitchen spray. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. Chop the strawberries.

2015-03-21 10.12.45

For wet ingredients, first mix greek yogurt and almond milk together until smooth. Add the vanilla and chia seeds, then the egg and coconut oil until combined. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, mixing until just combined. The batter should be wet but not runny. If too dry, add a splash more of almond milk. Then fold in the strawberries.

2015-03-21 10.19.23Once combined, scoop into the muffin cups so that they are just to the to the top. Here is where I like to add a secret ingredient. I sprinkle the top of each muffin with some raw sugar crystals. I use Sugar in the Raw Turbinado Sugar. It gives the muffins a nice sweet crackle and sparkle when they come out of the oven, just that extra something.

Bake at 375 for 18-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean or the tops are golden brown.

2015-03-21 10.46.36

If you used muffin cups, let the muffins cool for a few minutes before trying to take the papers off, otherwise they will stick badly to the paper. I ate these straight out of the oven with jam, then snacked on one later after they were totally cool. They were just as delicious and moist as when they were hot out of the oven!

2015-03-21 10.51.36-1

2015-03-21 10.57.41

Whole Wheat Strawberry Chia Oat Muffins:

  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 cup Quick Oats
  • 1 TBSP Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4-1/2 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you like it, i used 1/4)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt
  • 3/4 cup Almond Milk
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 TBSP Chia seeds
  • 3 TBSP Coconut Oil, melted
  • 1 cup chopped strawberries

Makes 12 muffins.

For 1 muffin:

  • Calories: 152
  • Total Far: 5g
  • Total Carb: 25g
    • Dietary Fiber: 2g
    • Sugars: 14g
  • Protein: 3g
  • Vitamin C: 13%
  • Calcium: 6%
  • Iron: 4%
One thought on “Healthy Whole Wheat Strawberry Chia Oat Muffins

  1. Pingback: Food on Friday # 20 Sweet Stuff | JackCollier7

Reply

