Easy Knit Baby Hat and Blanket Set

2016-02-13 19.09.17

I’ve arrived at the age when so many of my friends are taking that amazing next step into parenthood, a journey I myself have not yet undertaken. I’m wishing them all the best and have (I think) very enviable task of churning out baby related knit goodies and other crafty things!

I wanted to make a baby blanket and hat set, but jumping the gun as I usually do, I had no idea of the baby’s gender. Shopping the baby yarn isle, I found this yellow/grey/blue/white skein that I thought would be adorable for either a girl or boy. The yarn is Bernat Softee Baby Chunky in My Sunshine. I absolutely love it. I used four skeins altogether for the blanket and hat, which with a size 11 needle went a lot faster than I expected!

2016-02-13 19.09.48

The blanket and hat are both machine washable, and the blanket is reversible! It is shown blocked, but even before blocking it lays flat and looks great. I’m really happy with how it came out. It has a garter stitch edge and a knit stripe pattern that is plaid inspired. Super easy and quick to knit up.

2016-02-20 09.21.42

It was tight,  but I was able to use the last of the fourth skein after casting off my blanket to make a small baby hat, complete with mini pom-pom!

2016-02-13 19.11.52

The hat is nice and stretchy so it would be pretty roomy on a newborn, but fit the baby up to (I estimate) about 18 months.

Some Abbreviations:

CO= cast on

K= knit

P= purl

K2tog= knit two together

P2tog= purl two together

*Repeat pattern* between the asterisks to end, unless otherwise indicated

Striped Baby Blanket and Hat Set:

  • Size 11 Takumi 24″ Circular and Double Pointed Needles
  • 4 skeins Bernat Chunky Baby Softee in My Sunshine (5 if you are a loose knitter or want to expand your blanket)
  • (optional Pom Pom maker, I didn’t use one)

Blanket: finished size is 44″x 28.5″ blocked.

Note: All stitches are slipped purl-wise.

Cast On 110 stitches on size 11 circular needle. Long tail or provisional cast on methods are both okay, I used provisional cast on. Do not join in the round.

Rows 1-5: Knit

Row 6: Slip 1, K4, P2, K3, P2, K8, *P2, K3, P2, K14* three times, then P2, K3, P2, K8, P2, K3, P2, K5

Row 7: slip 1, K4, purl the purls and knit the knits until last 5 stitches, K5

Work rows 6-7 for a total of 14 rows, then:

Row 19: slip 1, K4, now knit the purls and purl the knits until last 5 stitches, K5

Row 20: slip 1, K4, knit the knits, purl the purls until last 5 stitches, K5

Continue to work a pattern repeat of  rows 6-7 across 14 rows, followed by two rows 19-20 (basically reverse of the pattern to create the stripe) 5 times. This square repeat can be worked as many times as desired for a larger blanket. When ready, end by working rows 6-7 for 14 rows.

Next Row: Knit.

Knit for 4 more rows (garter stitch) and then bind off. Weave in ends and block.

2016-02-20 14.27.48

Hat:

Using Size 14 double pointed needles, Cast on 44 stitches on 4 needles.

Next: K2, P2.

Continue until hat measures approximately 5″ from CO

Decrease:

Row 1: *K2tog, P2, K2, P2* K2 P2

Row 2: *K1, P2tog, K2tog, P2tog*

Row 3: K1, P1

Row 4: *K2tog*

Row 5: Knit (11 stitches)

Break Yarn and draw through remaining stitches. Cinch to tighten and secure, weave in ends. Make a 2″ diameter pom pom to top it off.

2016-02-20 14.39.22

I think these two would look great in any color, solid or a different festive mix of colors like this one. I can’t wait for some cute babies to try on my creations!

Feel free to leave a comment if anything is confusing,

 

6 thoughts on “Easy Knit Baby Hat and Blanket Set

  1. I was reading the instructions. It says to repeat rows 6 – 7 for a total of 14 rows. If you do that you would then have a total of 19 rows yet there is an instruction for row 19. Should the instructions for rows 19 and 20 really be rows 20 and 21? Thanks for clarifying this for me.

    Like

    • Ahh, sorry for the confusion! I meant to say that rows 6-7 should be worked 14 times. That would mean you work five knit border rows, then 14 more using the pattern as written for 6-7, then the next row would be 19, I think.

      Like

      • I understand what you are saying, but 5 boarder rows plus the 14 pattern rows is 19 rows. So does that mean rows 19 and 20 in the instructions are really 20 and 21?

        Like

Reply

