Light and Fluffy Nutella Pancakes

I just might have to make these every weekend!! I was having a bit of sweet tooth: I had just made some World Peace Cookies to take to a friend’s Easter brunch, and was considering whipping up a batch of pancakes to feed the husband before I left. With chocolate on the mind, I decided to throw some Nutella into the pancakes as I whipped them up. That could be good right?  Man, they did not disappoint! When I set these steaming puppies down in front of the husband and he took the first bite, he told me they were the best pancakes I have ever made…and proceeded to eat them ALL. From the few bites I managed, I had to agree: they were some of the most delicious, fluffiest, hazel-nuttiest, easy to make from scratch, NUTELLA PANCAKES!

2016-04-02 14.01.15

As it happened, I had just enough of an almost empty Nutella jar lying around, waiting to be finished off! It’s one of those things, like Peanut Butter, that I absolutely must have on hand at all times. I never quite got into the Cookie Butter phenom, for me chocolate, hazelnut, and peanut butter are all that’s necessary in life.

The texture of the batter is thick and very light and fluffy looking: it kind of reminded me of frosting. I had to spread the dollop around the pan, rather than pour the batter, because it was just too thick and delicious. WORTH IT.

2016-04-02 14.00.55

I ended up topping mine with Raspberry jam, a delicious flavor combination if I do say so myself!

2016-04-02 14.00.32

You can probably guess that pancakes, waffles, and the like are my go-to breakfast items. It’s a nice way to de-stress on weekend mornings after a long work week, and I do it pretty much every Saturday. I love pouring some hot coffee and then rustling up some hot pancakes with warm syrup or sweet jam: total comfort food!

Recipe: Serves 4

  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 TBSP baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 scant cup Greek yogurt + 1 cup water (or sub 2 cups total milk of choice)
  • 2 heaping TBSP Nutella
  •  1 egg
  • 3 TBSP melted coconut oil
  1. In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients
  2. In a separate bowl, combine yogurt and Nutella, then mix in water and egg
  3. melt coconut oil, add it to the other wet ingredients while stirring well
  4. Add wet ingredients to the dry, stirring until well combined. It’s okay if a few lumps of coconut oil remain.
  5. Prepare a hot griddle, dolloping and spreading batter into the pan, as it will be thick
  6. Flip when edges are matte, and bubbles form in the middle
  7. Store in a warm oven until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

Reply

