Cozy 20-minute Arm-Knit Scarf

I can’t believe the holiday season is finally here! I miss all the beautiful fall colors already, and I’m not quite ready for snow. Where did the time go? 2015-10-27 14.05.49

In the meantime there’s been Thanksgiving! I always have a Friendsgiving since I live so far from my family and usually see them at Christmas, so it was fun to see friends again. I never cook the turkey, and only contribute in the form of pie. This year it was the Pecan Pie from Smitten Kitchen.

2015-11-26 16.47.03-1

While I’ve been meaning to just sit down and brainstorm some knit gifts for the holidays (hats, hats, and more hats!), what I most wanted was a fast and easy project. I’ve heard about arm-knitting before, but I had never learned. I thought it was about time! In less than one episode of Jessica Jones, I whipped up a simple infinity scarf:

arm knit 1

Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in Starlight.arm knit 2

arm knit4To learn, I used this online tutorial from Simply Maggie, but if you are not in to the videos and prefer pictures only, this blog post about arm knitting from Flax and Twine is also great. You’ll notice that most of these scarves double the yarn to create a thicker scarf, using two skeins at once. I only used one skein (and not even the entire ball) for mine, but I liked the looser look of the knit:

arm knit

Yarn: 1 skein Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in Starlight, or another super bulky yarn.

Pattern:

Cast On 8 stitches using long-tail cast on.

Arm-Knit until piece can wrap three times comfortably around your neck, or measures approximately 80 inches.

Cast off, leave about a foot long tail. Use the tail to join the two ends of your scarf (making it an infinity scarf) by sewing the two ends together with the yarn. Weave in remaining ends.

This pattern can be customized to double the yarn or increase the width with the number of stitches. It was a great quick activity and I would totally make it again!

Happy Holidays!!

 

 

Reply